James Nickerson Interview

James Nickerson, 360 Flip. [p] Liam Annis

James Nickerson, 360 Flip. [p] Liam Annis

Liam Annis: With so many styles, genres and opinions in skating these days, skateboarding has become frustrating to many of its participants. How do you stay so positive and modest?
James Nickerson: Skateboarding becomes frustrating to those who take it way too seriously. For me, skateboarding isn’t the most important part of my life. There are other things that I want to do. Sure, I spend a majority of my time trying to skate, but at the end of the day skateboarding is only skateboarding. It’s an activity that I am proud to be involved with, but I don’t want skateboarding to define my entire life. I think what I’m trying to say is that I have no reason to be frustrated because I don’t put all my time and effort into one aspect of my life. Don’t skateboard because you think you are the shit for doing so. Go skateboard because it makes you happy. Laugh with your friends, enjoy the vibes of the city, and relax. Learning a new trick will frustrate you enough. Don’t let other people ruin your day because of their narrow minded views. Just enjoy.

LA: How long have you been refered to as the street prince?
JN: I would say that nickname has been around for about 3 years now. At the time it came around I was a weekend warrior in the city. At first, I didn’t even know the nickname was directed at me… All I knew was that I didn’t really know what “street prints” were. In the terms of slang words, my friends in Boston had some different slang than I was use to on Cape Cod. One day, my friends and I left the RAW store to go skate eggs. While we were on the bus one of them, my homie David Milliken, said “street prints” in the middle of a conversation. I finally asked, “yo, what the hell are street prints?” All my homies just started laughing at me. David just smiled at me and said, “No. You are the Street Prince”. I’m going to credit David and Brian Delaney on that nickname. I’m pretty sure it was a group effort of their jib jabbing. I don’t know. It’s probably the best of my many nicknames.

“All my homies just started laughing at me. David just smiled at me and said,
“No. You are the Street Prince”.

LA: How would you describe your dad?
JN: My dad is seriously amazing. He is very passionate about music and languages. The man is a master guitarist and pianist while also being able to fluently speak Portuguese, Spanish, Mandarin Chinese, and English. For as long as I can remember my dad has been down with skateboarding. As a kid, I would spend weekends with my dad and little brother, Dougie. My dad would drive us wherever we wanted to skateboard. Whether it was a skate park, street spot, close to home, or far away, my dad was always down for us having fun. No matter how long we skated over the period of the day, my dad would set up his lawn chair, sip a diet coke, and just hang out. Although, I do have to mention how supportive my mom is also. When I was 9 my mom built an awesome quarter pipe in our driveway that we loved to skate. About 2 years later, when we moved to a home that didn’t have a driveway, my mom built us a 4 foot tall, 8 foot wide mini ramp that nearly went to vert. It was crazy, but wicked fun. My mom has always been a G. Basically, my parents have always been supportive and down right radical. I love them.

LA: Where you satisfied with your section of the RAW video?
JN: Definitely. Lee Madden made a slacker like myself look cool for about 2 minutes. Honestly, I’m just psyched about the whole project. Everyone involved put in a solid year of skating. It’s rad to watch the clips of everyone’s part and remember the entire day that happened before and after that trick was captured on film. Lee always talked about how a video is like a yearbook. I certainly hold on to that. The video is going to have nostalgic value to us one day. I also trip having a video part next to all the dudes I look up to in the city. Since I was younger, I always looked up to RAW and everyone who was involved with the brand. I’m happy that I was given the opportunity to be apart of something that I always thought was dope.

LA: So I hear you like skitching cars? How many have you skitched?
JN: Dude…I can’t even answer how many. I grab onto any vehicle that comes close to me. Although, I can tell you about my favorite skitch. One night, my homies and I left the aquarium to go skate and drink at the Copley library. Personally, skating spot to spot is my favorite part of skateboarding. Nothing beats dorking around in the streets with some of your best friends. On this particular night, it was like a race for all of us. We were all pushing as fast as we could to get to Copley. As we were rounding the corner between Emerson College and the Common, I was already holding onto the wheel well of a taxi. I just remember being super hyped that I was brown bagging a beer in my other hand. People on the sidewalk were yelling at me about how stupid and dangerous it was. I was nothing but hyped. Definitely one of my favorite skitches.

LA: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
JN: Well, that is a tough question to answer. I have dreams of things I would like to accomplish by then. But, nothing is really set in stone. Traveling more is something I hope to do. I definitely want to be finished with at least a bachelors program at that point. I’ve always wanted to become a teacher. Maybe I will try to teach abroad somewhere. I can’t really see myself staying in Boston forever. It is always going to be my favorite city for sure, but I don’t want to get too comfortable. There is so much more to see. Of course, I’ll still be skateboarding around too. I don’t see that passion dying in this lifetime.

LA: Are you and Jack Kelly brothers?
JN: No, we aren’t. Although, Jack is my homie and I have a funny story. Jack is a few years older than me. We both grew up in the same town on Cape Cod called Barnstable. When I was younger, my mom would take me to the local skate shop, Boarding House. She loved to embarrass Jack (and me) by talking about how in love she was with his father. I guess my mom and his dad dated for years. So…Maybe he is my brother? Two gingers from Cape Cod who love to skateboard. But really I’m just kidding, we aren’t brothers, just homies. The real question is, why do so many gingers from Cape Cod skateboard?

James Nickerson, Back Blunt. [p] Liam Annis

James Nickerson, Back Blunt. [p] Liam Annis

LA: So I heard you are about to leave the country, where are you going? What are you doing there?
JN: Actually, I already left. I’m currently in Barcelona with my girlfriend. We decided to take a month long vacation in Spain. I’m wicked lucky that both my jobs let me have time off. Prior to this we spent 2 weeks in Madrid. It was dope! Ben Skrzypek let us crash at his place for a few nights and showed us the sites. I was really into Madrid. It’s a beautiful city that has great (cheap) food, nice people, and unbelievable skate spots. It actually reminded me of Boston in the sense that it is seemingly underrated as far as skateboarding goes. People always skip Boston and go to New York, Philly, California, etc. As for Spain, people always go to Barcelona and skip Madrid. Madrid is awesome. It’s a city that is definitely worth checking out…I’m already planning a trip to come back.

LA: Are there any people that you would like to thank?
JN: I would like to personally thank my mom and dad for always being trusting and supportive throughout my life. Kimberly Gilmore, for being the best friend I could have. Mary and Mike Gyra, for serving as my mentors, teachers, and life-long friends. Paul Savini, Mike Archer, and the rest of the Boarding House crew for raising me as a skateboarder. Kevin Susienka and Steve Costello, for giving me the opportunity to be apart of something that I always looked up to. Spungie and Dave at Concepts, for always looking out for me. Jonah at Bolts, for letting me be in the mix. Mike Tallone, for always being radical. Lee Madden, for putting up with my shit, and letting me drink his beers. Tim Savage, for being motivational, and eternally hyped. Brian Reid, for quitting rollerblading, and becoming my favorite skateboarder. Brian Delaney, Jack Kelly, and Rob Cabral for letting me crash on their couch when I was younger, giving me interesting nicknames, and introducing me to everyone I skate with now. The Based Noblemen (you guys know who you are), for listening to Max B, and keeping skating fun. The “F.C.” crew, for being the most reckless squad of skaters in Boston. Dana Ericson, for putting up with me being too loud in the morning. Yolanda Ortiz, for more than I can put on paper. Mack Ryan for still being my homie, and best roommate ever. Ben Skrzypek, for making my first time to Spain a rad one. Everyone at DQM and Orchard for letting me lurk in their stores. And of course, Liam Annis and Mike Gustafson for making this interview possible. There are many more people that should be thanking, but my mind is tired from all this writing. Thank you to everyone who makes my days better. Thank you.